A Time For Change

I stepped away from my blog to do some major soul searching regarding which direction I’m heading towards with my creativity.  Since my last post after losing Pikachu, I was very busy preparing for a holiday crafts fair.  I had immersed myself in designing and creating a variety of holiday home decor for several months, and after all was said and done, I felt like a balloon that had just lost all its air…flying high one moment, then spiraling down to the floor the next.

Exhaustion made up 80% of my spiral downwards, but it was that 20% that kept me wondering what I wanted to do next. It’s true that artists are known to peak out and run out of juice at one time or another.  However, that wasn’t the case with me.  I was still driven, still wanting to do more, but I wanted to go a different direction.

As long as I can remember, I’ve always been anxious about doing so many things.  Creative people do lots of different things, don’t they?  I want to design print, draw, paint, create wonderful events, brand parties and weddings, arrange beautiful floral for special occasions, be in executive management, work in corporate, own a business, be an entrepreneur, create crafts, sew….and so on.  Been there, done that.  What’s next?

In my dilemma, I was fortunate while surfing the Internet, to run into an author, who wrote a book, “Creatives with Multiple Talents.”  Douglas Eby researched and studied about people just like myself, creatives with many interests and passions.  It felt good to see in print, that there are others like myself.  He goes on to say:

“If there is one word that makes creative people different from others, it is the word complexity.  Instead of being an individual, they are a multitude.”

So true…exactly how I feel.  Reading about myself, has really helped me to understand and accept all of me. It has helped me to realize just why I am so critical of my work, why I set such high standards for myself, why I am so anxious about doing so many different things, and why I question my happiness and satisfaction with the creative choices I made in my life.  Aside from doing what you got to because “Life Happens”; feeling sensitive to what others think; and just feeling different…I am different…my right brain says so.  It’s what I’ve said all along in my blog, “Inspiration, Imagination, Expression”.  It’s how I communicate!  It’s who I am!

Well, with all that said, I’m back on track, still creating, but adding one more to my repertoire of things I want to do! I’m writing again. I’ve always wanted to be published, so I’m going to really work on finishing some of the projects I had put aside for awhile.  Whether I get published or not is not important. What is, is that I get them off the shelf and get them completed.  So, with pen in hand, I have two writing projects that I will be diligently focusing my right brain on. One manuscript is a short story in honor of my dad who passed away several years ago, and the other is a fictional children’s fantasy book based on my little “Pika” and her adventures as a magical “dog-in-a-bag”.

A very special major change in my life is I’m going to be a grandmother.  My first grandchild will be arriving in August. Uh-oh…I feel baby DIY projects coming!

One more major life transition will happen in the middle of ApriI.  For a long time now, I’ve wanted to find a way to reach out to others and give a hand or two.  Well, after much deliberation, I decided to do what I’ve naturally been doing for so many years with friends, family, and business associates.  I’ve always been the kind of person people are drawn to and share their life and career plans with. I always do my best to give them another perspective, insight in setting realistic goals, accountability, and tough love. Together, we collaborate in bringing out their maximum potential, their passions, and the WOWs in their life.  It is clear to me that talented people struggle balancing their passion with daily life responsibilities, so it seemed like a natural transition to become a trained certified professional coach for Creatives and Entrepreneurs.

As a Life and Career Coach, I hope to help the young creative professional just starting and seeking a creative career; the under-paid and unappreciated professional; the over-paid, but unfulfilled professional; the successful but burned out 30-year-old professional, confused whether to stay or follow his dream; the overwhelmed mom balancing work, kids, and losing her identity; the well-off retired executive slipping into “what-do-I-do now, oblivion”; and the writer or artist “stuck” in a black hole.

My Myrna Artistry blog and MyrnaArtistry website (anticipated launch by Summer) will also be home for my coaching endeavors. There will be reconstruction involved in transforming MyrnaArtistry, so please don’t mind the dust! I will continue to keep you in the loop, but in the meantime, hang in there with me while all this is happening.

Of course, I will still be dabbling with my endless other artistic endeavors, like my paintings I am working on (inspired by my computer enhanced photography); my fabric hand crafted mini date-night purses, and the beautiful holiday decor and recycled gift bags from the Crafts Fair.  I have yet to share those with you (we’ll do Christmas in July!) Last, but not least, I’m about to embark on a sewing upholstery project for a window seat in my nephew’s new home. So, there may be a new How-To DIY Window Seat Upholstery post in the future.

Don’t be overwhelmed!  It’s all creativity! It’s Expression and Imagination at work!  It’s just Me, communicating with you!

Leave a Reply

