Not Too Shabby

IMG_1127
This sturdy hardwood Coffee Table I repurposed using chalk paint I mixed. I found the table on Craigslist for $40.
IMG_1124
First coat of chalk paint.

There are many ways to acquire furniture and home decor to make an apartment or a home cozy, beautiful, and within your budget.  The phrase “beauty is in the eyes of the beholder” holds true for repurposed furniture.   I love bringing new life to used furniture. There is so much beauty and life in many items that are tossed out.

Thrift stores like Goodwill, St. Vincent De Paul Society and American Cancer Discovery Shop, just to name a few, are wonderful places to find great bargains for furniture and home decor.  You just need to take the time to look.  Sometimes you get lucky and you’ll find something that is perfect and you can use it as is.  Or it may need some work so you’ll need to  get your hands dirty, buy a few tools, paint, maybe use a little bit of muscle, and imagination.  When I do find a “great find”, weather from a thrift store, Craigslist, or the dumpster (yeah, I said dumpster), I let “it” tell me how to tackle “it’s rebirth”.  From there, it’s just a matter of time and some elbow grease, until I’ve successfully transformed it.

IMG_1116

IMG_1089

This little table I found in St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store for $7 and repurposed it with a chalk paint mix.Thrift stores like Goodwill, St. Vincent De Paul Society and American Cancer Discovery Shop, are wonderful places to find great bargains for furniture and home decor.  You just need to take the time to look.  Sometimes you get lucky and you’ll find something that is perfect and you can use it as is.  Or it may need some work so you’ll need to  get your hands dirty, buy a few tools, paint, maybe use a little bit of muscle, and imagination.  When I do find a “great find”, weather from a thrift store, Craigslist, or the dumpster (yeah, I said dumpster), I let “it” tell me how to tackle “it’s rebirth”.  From there, it’s just a matter of time and some elbow grease, until I’ve successfully transformed it.

My taste in home decor has changed considerably throughout my life journey, but where I am today is my most favorite, “Hampton Coastal”.   I think I’ve come to love this style because it really captures where I am today in my life. “Hampton Coastal” feels so bright,  fresh, and calming.  With its beach and cottage-like coziness, it’s  very soothing and retiring.  It’s like being on vacation every day  while at home.

What’s more,  it’s a great decor style that can be achieved through creative DIY projects with a very minimal budget.  Everything you see here are my  “great finds” and the “before and after” results of my repurposed project makeovers.  These are all my personal DIY projects using a chalk paint process.  Some of the bargains I found as home decor pieces were perfect the way they were, while others only needed very little creative effort and imagination to be repurposed.

BeforeThrift stores like Goodwill, St. Vincent De Paul Society and American Cancer Discovery Shop, just to name a few, are wonderful places to find great bargains for furniture and home decor.  You just need to take the time to look.  Sometimes you get lucky and you’ll find something that is perfect and you can use it as is.  Or it may need some work so you’ll need to  get your hands dirty, buy a few tools, paint, maybe use a little bit of muscle, and imagination.  When I do find a “great find”, weather from a thrift store, Craigslist, or the dumpster (yeah, I said dumpster), I let “it” tell me how to tackle “it’s rebirth”.  From there, it’s just a matter of time and some elbow grease, until I’ve successfully transformed it.

This was a picture frame trio. I removed the glass and glued shells inside the matts. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $7.
This was a picture frame trio. I removed the glass and glued shells inside the mats. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $7.
Framed Mirror. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $7.  I applied a chalk paint mix over the natural rattan color.
Framed Mirror. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $7. I applied a chalk paint mix over the natural rattan color.
Decorative mirror shelf from American Cancer Society Discovery Shop, $19.99, as is.
Decorative mirror shelf from American Cancer Society Discovery Shop, $19.99, as is.
Framed Art. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store.  $6 without photo.
This was the perfect frame for a card a good friend sent me.  St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $6.
Found this sitting on top of a dumpster.  I applied a fresh coat of chalk paint mix to revive it.
Found this sitting on top of a dumpster just anxious for a fresh coat of chalk paint mix to revive it.
This maple hardwood desk was sitting next to the dumpster. With a little elbow grease and chalk paint mix, its my sewing machine table today.
This beautiful maple hardwood desk was sitting next to the dumpster waiting for me.  With a little elbow grease and chalk paint mix, she and my sewing machine have become fast friends.
Large framed wall art. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $40 as is.  The same painting was at Costco for $180.
Large framed wall art. St. Vincent De Paul Society Thrift Store, $40 as is. This same framed print was at Costco for $180.
Bedroom lamp, after I painted it with chalk paint mix and recovered the lampshade with fabric.
Bedroom lamp, after I painted it with chalk paint mix and recovered the lampshade with fabric.
Bedroom lamp from Big Lot, $7.50, before I painted it.
Bedroom lamp from Big Lot, $7.50, before I gave it a complete makeover.
Leave a Reply

